Forum

Post subject: Hi guys...new guy in Braintree area
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:49 pm 
Hello to everyone in the group. My name is Chris, I am American by birth from Atlanta, Georgia but live here now. I live near Braintree in north Essex, just got myself a cheap mountain bike a few months ago and am looking for places to ride that are kind of local or not too far away. I am 41 and in not-so-good physical shape nowadays.
I have been an out-of-work engineer for 2 years and have stayed at home with our two kids...until they start school in a couple of weeks, so my weight has skyrocketed and my health has plummeted...enough said. :oops: It finally hit the fan for me when I hyperextended my left knee a few weeks ago, and am now wearing one of those stupid padded braces and also have strained my left ankle and hip to take the pressure off my left knee. So, pretty much a mess now and not healing as fast as I had hoped. :( I have taken my bike out a few times for slow easy rides on sidewalks/trails but am working on getting my knee sorted out first. I rode bikes like crazy, did all sorts of stunts and cross-country, hill-jumping and so on as a kid (those were the best days) and even rode on beaches and steep rocky hills in my teens before there was such a thing as MTB (it was just "riding bikes" back then) all the way up to when I was about 21-22 yrs. old when my 4th bike was stolen. I never replaced it....moved on to other things and grew up, served in the military and got married then moved to the UK from the USA back in 2003 and settled down here. We moved to Great Notley back in 2005 and have been here ever since. Have travelled around the UK a bit and explored Essex via footpaths and back roads but never by bike. I am also looking for any riders who are local and might be interested in meeting up for some easy cross-country rides until my knee is totally healed. I go to Discovery/Great Notley park about once a week or whenever I can manage it. Hope to meet up s