Forum

Post subject: Newbie - From Thurrock (Chafford Hundred)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:30 pm 
Used to mountain bike a bit as a kid (was 29 yesterday) and currently cycle to work (road bike) quite a few times a week so although I am a complete newbie to mountain biking I would say I feel at home on a bike.

Really hoping to get into mountain biking and done a search on Yahoo and found myself here. Just wondering what that best way to go about getting into the sport is. I was planning to go to a few of the major trails by myself, firstly to get used to the routes/trails and secondly to get comfortable on the bike. Then maybe look at meeting up as a group once I have a bit more confidence.

Any advice, tips or other newbies that have useful info are appreciated.

Also I am about to decide this weekend on what bike to get , I have narrowed it to either a Spec Rockhopper Comp 2011, Ghost SE 6000, Trek 6300 or Whyte 805. All within the 699-899 budget so any nudges in the right direction or ones to stay away from would be good too.

Cheers

Post subject: Re: Newbie - From Thurrock (Chafford Hundred)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:43 pm 
Hi Scully

I am new to this forum. Just got on here a few days ago.

Are you going for a hard tail then. I have heard good things about Ghost bikes.

Im sure you will love MTBing!

Liz

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:08 pm 
Welcome Scully.

Got an 06 and 08 rockhopper, cant recommend them enough, dont know anything about the others ones you mentioned.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:23 pm 
Welcome mate - lots of people have signed up recently who are just getting started with mtb

Scully wrote:
Also I am about to decide this weekend on what bike to get , I have narrowed it to either a Spec Rockhopper Comp 2011, Ghost SE 6000, Trek 6300 or Whyte 805. All within the 699-899 budget so any nudges in the right direction or ones to stay away from would be good too.
Cheers