Forum

Post subject: Hi (Newbie in the Epping area)
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 7:56 pm 
Hi Guys,

Thought I would introduce myself.

I'm Rowan, I'm a fairly new rider based in the Epping area.

I've ridden bikes of various types in the past (to a very basic standard I might add) but at the grand old age of 26 have decided to try my hand at proper mountain biking and so far am loving it!

I've been riding for the past month or so pretty much solely in Epping forest on the search tricky single tracks and bumpy tree dodging routes through the heart of the forest. I've been riding my dads 2014 Boardman hardtale but have decided to finally get my own bike (a full sus 2016 Scott Spark 750).

As im fairly new to riding in the area and don't really have any mates that share the interest in the sport, im riding on my own but would be keen to tag along with some riders who know what they are doing (and where they are going) to show me the ropes and help me improve my riding.

I would love to try my hand at some downhills but I don't really know where to look for them, if they even exist locally that is...

I ride nearly every Saturday and Sunday between 8:00 and 10:00 so if your in the area and fancy showing the new blood the ropes give me a shout. I might not be the most competent rider but what I lack in skill I make up for in enthusiasm.

Cheers,

Rowan

Post subject: Re: Hi (Newbie in the Epping area)
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:05 pm 
Welcome dude - keep an eye out for rides either in the calendar in the top left corner or in the forum. Things tend to get going a bit more as the Forest dries out a bit

There is also a dedicated Epping page here with links to Epping threads

http://www.essexhertsmtb.co.uk/mtb-trai ... forest.php

A great place to find out about the trails is and do some exploring on your own is strava heatmaps

http://labs.strava.com/heatmap/#14/-359 ... /blue/bike

and almost all of the trails are shown here