Forum

Post subject: First ride in the Peak District
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:22 pm 
I'm quite happy to admit that I'm far from an expert mountain biker......

I've been riding for almost 2 years and in that time I've spent more than a few Sundays in Epping. I've managed to drag myself round a few trail centres... Swinley & Bedgebury being to obvious local ones.... Llandegela, Penmachno & Coed y Brenin in Wales. I'm comfortable riding a red and will give the blacks a go if needed ;)

I've survived a few big XC rides, up and down mountains ( ok probably just a hill ) in Wales, Long Mynd and a rather large bit of the Ridgeway.

Maybe almost an intermediate sort of rider if you see what I mean :D

Unfortunately none of that is much help in my current situation..... I'm bouncing down a trail called Potato Alley, why is it called Potato Alley.... well not content with a trail vaguely hacked out of the local bedrock full of awkwardly entertaining little drops and blind ruts someone had the great idea of covering the whole lot in rocks about the size of a potato. Now these aren't your polite southern Jersey Royals more your full on chunky chip King Edwards.

Why am I bouncing rather than riding it like a pro ( intermediate ) ? Well I made the mistake of stopping, ok I didn't mean to stop but stop I did, so now I've got the get going again. I'm bouncing because I can't get my arse off the saddle and I can't get my arse of the saddle because I can't get my right foot clipped back in and I can't get my foot clipped in because I'm bouncing about so much........ :lolno:

It's about know that I realise why despite only being about 18 miles this loop is reckoned to takes us about 5 hrs and I also realise why the Peak District is such a great place to ride a mountain bike :D

Back to the beginning.... the Ride we're doing is called the Hope Triple 8, why? Because it starts in Hope and is sort of a figure 8 with an extra loop :D