Forum

Post subject: Help! Ideas for Norfolk rider looking further afield
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:49 am 
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie on here hailing from the Norfolk coast. Every fortnight or so I can grab brief opportunities to ride further afield to vary my usual diet of xc slogs on the dunes, jumps at mousehold in Norwich and xc rides at thetford. I've been to chick sands a couple of times and loved it but my problem is that after getting somewhere that could easily be a three hour drive from the Great Yarmouth area I need to maximise the riding opportunities once I'm there.

So chicksands is great in that I've got a lot packed into one area, easy to find and park. What I don't want is to arrive at somewhere that I might have seen mentioned on a 2014 post on moredirt and find it's been bulldozed and there's a couple of gently rolling dog walkers tracks and some unrideable jumps. Not too hard and not too easy or a range of lines would be great as I don't have more than a couple of hours at a time to really session a trail if you see what I mean, no steep learning curves really!

So far I'm planning on visiting Danbury common, tunstall forest, hadleigh maybe. I'm more Essex /Cambs/Herts than places like chicksands as getting that far can literally be an entire day of my weekend just to get there and back and like many people I have other commitments.