Forum

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Post subject: Arse...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:54 pm 
Andy, that's great to hear. I was told by consultant I didn't need surgery but afterwards I hoped this wasn't because I had answered his question of 'what do you do for a living' with he fact I work in IT.
Read quite a bit last night and thankfully it seemed to be the general concencus was the non-surgery approach with proper physio after sufficient rest, etc.

I'll have a read on that site tonight, thanks. I also need to see what the NHS referred physio has to say when I state I don't just want to be fixed to be able to 'function' but to fully active again both on my MTB and other pursuits.

If that fails I can invoke my BUPA cover through work which incurrs a £100 excess but bad no problem paying that if it means a 'proper' recovery. I'll see what's said first though :)

And yes, bloody big impact ;) !!

Post subject: Re: arse...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:05 pm 
unityjon wrote:

should make sat night a bit more interesting, im sleeping out in the woods!

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:58 pm 
Generally with any ACJ injuries, it doesn't matter what your activity levels, they normally leave it if they can. I know some pro rugby teams where all they do is remove it in grade I and II injuries, only bother repairing it once conservative management has failed. Mainly due to the success rates and lengthy period of rehab and decreased activity post repair. Basically if I had the same injury I wouldn't be rushing for the surgeons knife :)

Any other questions, more than happy for you to PM me.

and I do NHS physio as well, we're not all that bad ;)

Out of curiosity, do you remember what position your arm was in when you landed?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:25 pm 
andy83 wrote:

Out of curiosity, do you remember what position your arm was in when you landed?

the wrong one ? ;)

--------------------------------------